Data and validation APIs
From $9.99
per 1,000 signup checks; $24.75 on Starter
Signup fraud checks
$0.005 a query for minFraud Score, paid from prepaid service credit (a custom amount starts at $20)
maxmind.com
A transaction risk score vs one call per signup
MaxMind minFraud charges $0.005 to $0.020 a query, and 1Lookup charges $0.025 for a signup checked, with the verdict, the reasons and a phone check in one call.
Looking for a MaxMind minFraud alternative? This page sets MaxMind minFraud pricing beside 1Lookup, with every MaxMind minFraud figure taken from its own published pages, checked October 2026.
- 7-day free trial on every plan
- No contract and no minimum volume
5
Credits per signup check
about $0.025 on Starter
5
Checks in one call
address, domain, IP, phone and burst
60 min
Window for repeat signups
counted for each API key
3
Verdicts you can act on
allow, review or block
At a glance
Here is where 1Lookup wins against MaxMind minFraud, and where MaxMind minFraud still wins.
Both score a new signup before it gets in. MaxMind minFraud is a transaction risk API sold pay as you go from prepaid credit: Score returns an overall risk score and an IP risk score, Insights adds IP risk reasons and over 80 data points, and Factors adds the risk reasons behind a score, with custom rules that label a transaction accept, reject or manual review. 1Lookup is one API call per signup: an email, with an optional IP address and phone number, returns allow, review or block, a 0 to 100 risk score and the reasons in plain words, plus a count of repeat signups in the last hour, billed per check from a balance that also pays for phone, email and IP lookups.
- The verdict, the 0 to 100 score and the reasons in plain words come back in one call at one price, so a support team can read why a signup was held
- Repeat signups are counted for you: how many others in the last hour, on the same API key, shared the IP address, the inbox or the email domain, with Gmail dots and +tags reduced to one inbox
- An optional phone number is checked in the same call, for invalid and VoIP lines and for a phone from another country than the IP address
- The same key and balance also pay for phone, email and IP validation, there is no fee per seat, and credits roll over for 3 months
What it costs
From $9.99
per 1,000 signup checks; $24.75 on Starter
- Cheaper per query: Score is $0.005 a query, $5 per 1,000 (arithmetic), with Insights at $15 and Factors at $20 per 1,000.
- Pay as you go with no commitment and no minimums, from prepaid credit that starts at $20 for a custom amount.
- It reads more than an email, an IP address and a phone: the product page describes transaction data like 'IP, email, credit card, device, physical address, and more', and Insights adds 'over 80 data points on IPs, emails, devices, payment cards, and more'.
- Three levels: Score returns an overall transaction risk score and an IP risk score, Insights adds IP risk reasons, and Factors adds risk reasons that explain what is behind a score.
- Custom rules can label a transaction accept, reject or manual review, and customer onboarding is a listed use case ('Protect your sign-ups and user base from bad actors').
What it costs
$0.005 a query for minFraud Score, paid from prepaid service credit (a custom amount starts at $20)
Short answer
MaxMind's pricing page prints minFraud Score at $0.005 a query, which is $5 per 1,000 (arithmetic), Insights at $0.015 and Factors at $0.020, pay as you go with no minimums. 1Lookup's Signup Check costs 5 credits a signup, $24.75 per 1,000 on Starter, so MaxMind is cheaper per query. 1Lookup returns the verdict, the reasons in plain words and a one-hour count of repeat signups at one price, and MaxMind also reads payment cards and addresses.
What replaces what
Here is which 1Lookup product matches each MaxMind minFraud job.
MaxMind bills each query at the level you call: Score, Insights or Factors. This is a different unit on 1Lookup: one signup, billed in credits from a monthly balance for every completed check, a clear one included, with the verdict, the score and the reasons returned at that one price.
Side by side
Both products are measured on the same criteria, using MaxMind minFraud's own published numbers.
| Criteria | ||
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Monthly plans with universal credits; core phone, email and IP lookups cost 1 credit, enrichment and intelligence products cost more | Pay as you go, with 'No Commitment' and 'No Minimums', billed per query from prepaid service credit: minFraud Score is $0.005, Insights $0.015 and Factors $0.020 per query. Credit presets are $25, $50, $100 and $250, or a custom whole-dollar amount from $20 to $25,000. Volume discounts exist but no tiers are published. |
| Starting price | $99/mo for 20,000 credits. At 5 credits each (Signup Check API), that is $24.75 per 1,000 signup checks on Starter, down to $9.99 on Enterprise. | $0.005 a query for minFraud Score, paid from prepaid service credit (a custom amount starts at $20). |
| Free option | Free single lookups via the online tools at 1lookup.io/tools, no account required | None published |
| Free trial | 7-day free trial on every plan: $5 of credits on Starter, $20 on Growth, Professional, and Enterprise, with no payment today | A free trial of up to 1,000 queries is available on request; its length is not stated. |
| Do credits expire? | Unused monthly credits roll over for 3 months; separately purchased credits last 1 year | Not published |
At volume
This is what MaxMind minFraud charges at each volume it publishes.
| Volume | Price | Per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|
| $99 to $1,999 a month | $9.99 to $24.75 | |
| 1,000 minFraud Score queries | $5.00 ($0.005 per query) | $5.00 |
| 1,000 minFraud Insights queries | $15.00 ($0.015 per query) | $15.00 |
| 1,000 minFraud Factors queries | $20.00 ($0.020 per query) | $20.00 |
MaxMind minFraud figures verified October 2026 against maxmind.com.
How you buy
This is how you buy from 1Lookup and from MaxMind minFraud.
How it is sold
Monthly plans with universal credits; core phone, email and IP lookups cost 1 credit, enrichment and intelligence products cost more
What it starts at
$99/mo for 20,000 credits
How you try it
7-day free trial on every plan: $5 of credits on Starter, $20 on Growth, Professional, and Enterprise, with no payment today
How it is sold
Pay as you go, with 'No Commitment' and 'No Minimums', billed per query from prepaid service credit: minFraud Score is $0.005, Insights $0.015 and Factors $0.020 per query
What it starts at
$0.005 a query for minFraud Score, paid from prepaid service credit (a custom amount starts at $20)
How you try it
A free trial of up to 1,000 queries is available on request; its length is not stated
A real result
This is how one 1Lookup lookup runs, start to finish.
Send the signup
POST the email address from your signup form. Add the IP address the request came from and the phone number if you collect one, and each one runs another check.
Five checks run at once
The address is reduced to its root inbox, the domain is checked, the IP address and phone number are checked, and the last hour of signups on your API key is counted.
Act on allow, review or block
You get the verdict, a 0 to 100 risk score and the reasons in plain words, in one JSON payload. Every check bills 5 credits.
Try the Fake Signup Checker, one of 1Lookup's free tools.
Paste a signup email and see the real inbox behind it, whether the domain can receive mail and how old it is, free, before you decide.
The evidence
Here is the evidence behind every number on this page.
Here are MaxMind minFraud and 1Lookup side by side on the terms you check before you sign.
The terms that decide what a year actually costs, rather than what the first month does. “Not listed” means we could not verify it on either product’s published pages, not that the answer is nothing.
| Term | 1Lookup | MaxMind minFraud |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum commitment | None. Monthly plans with no contract and no minimum volume; cancel any time | The pricing page says 'No Commitment' and 'No Minimums'; a custom prepaid amount starts at $20. |
| API access | Included on every plan and during the free trial; there is no tier that unlocks it | Not listed |
| Rate limit | 200 requests per 10 seconds for each API key on standard lookups and 1,000 requests a minute for each key on number type, HLR and MNP, and each account can make up to 1,000 requests a minute in total across all its keys; higher limits are available on request | Not listed |
| Support | Starter: Email Support; Growth: Priority Email & Chat Support; Professional: Chat + Live Meeting; Enterprise: Dedicated CSM | Not listed |
1Lookup

MaxMind minFraud

MaxMind minFraud pricing and product facts verified against maxmind.com as of October 2026. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor’s site. 1Lookup numbers come from the live rate card.
Who it is for
Pick 1Lookup or stay with MaxMind minFraud depending on the job in front of you.
Choose 1Lookup if
you want the signup judged in one call that returns allow, review or block with its risk score and reasons, counts repeat signups over the last hour, and checks the phone number, all from one credit balance.
Consider MaxMind minFraud instead if
you want the lowest price per query ($5 per 1,000 for Score, $15 for Insights, $20 for Factors), pay as you go with no minimums, or checks on payment cards and addresses beside the IP address and email.
Questions
People ask these questions before they switch from MaxMind minFraud.
How does MaxMind minFraud pricing work?
Pay as you go, billed per query from prepaid service credit, with 'No Commitment' and 'No Minimums'. minFraud Score is $0.005 a query, Insights $0.015 and Factors $0.020, which is $5, $15 and $20 per 1,000 (arithmetic). Credit presets are $25, $50, $100 and $250, or a custom whole-dollar amount between $20 and $25,000. Volume discounts exist but no tiers are published. Checked October 2026.
What does each minFraud level return?
Score returns an overall transaction risk score and an IP risk score. Insights adds IP risk reasons and 'over 80 data points on IPs, emails, devices, payment cards, and more'. Factors adds risk reasons that explain what is behind a score. Custom rules can label a transaction accept, reject or manual review. Checked October 2026.
How much does 1Lookup charge for a signup check?
5 credits per signup checked, billed for every completed check, whatever the verdict. On the Starter plan ($99 a month for 20,000 credits) a check is about $0.025, which covers 4,000 signups a month and is $24.75 per 1,000. At the Enterprise end of the rate card it is about $0.010.
Is 1Lookup cheaper than MaxMind minFraud per signup?
No. minFraud Score is $5.00 per 1,000 queries, Insights $15.00 and Factors $20.00 (arithmetic on the printed per-query prices), against $24.75 per 1,000 on 1Lookup Starter. MaxMind is cheaper than Starter at every level it sells, and Score is cheaper than even the Enterprise end of the 1Lookup rate card, $9.99 per 1,000.
Does minFraud check phone numbers?
Its product page describes transaction data like 'IP, email, credit card, device, physical address, and more' and does not mention phone checks, so this page makes no claim about them either way. 1Lookup checks an optional phone number for invalid and VoIP lines and for a phone from another country than the IP address.
What does Signup Check look at?
The email address, which is required: Gmail dots and +tags collapse to the real inbox, and disposable domains, brand-new domains, domains with no mail server and mailboxes that do not exist are flagged. The IP address, which is optional: data center, VPN, proxy and Tor addresses and public blocklists. The phone number, which is optional: invalid numbers, VoIP numbers and a phone from another country than the IP address. And the signups in the last hour on the same API key that share the IP address, the inbox or the email domain.
Where does MaxMind minFraud beat 1Lookup?
On price per query (Score at $5 per 1,000), on pay as you go with no minimums from $20 of prepaid credit, and on breadth: the product page describes IP, email, credit card, device, physical address and more, and Insights adds over 80 data points. It also lets you write custom rules that label a transaction accept, reject or manual review. 1Lookup reads the email address, the IP address and the phone number, and returns review from a score of 35 and block from 70.
Is there a free trial?
MaxMind offers a free trial of up to 1,000 queries on request, and the length is not stated. 1Lookup starts with a 7-day free trial.
What is the best MaxMind minFraud alternative?
If you want the lowest price per query, pay as you go with no minimums, or payment and address data in the same score, minFraud is the better fit. If you want the verdict, the score and the reasons in plain words at one price, with a phone check and a one-hour count of repeat signups, 1Lookup's Signup Check bills 5 credits for every completed check.
Is MaxMind minFraud worth it in 2026?
Yes if you want a low price per query and data on payments and addresses beside the IP address and email; Score starts at $0.005 a query. If you only need to judge the email, the IP address and the phone number of a new signup and read the reasons in plain words, compare the per-check price of 1Lookup.
Check a signup and see its verdict and reasons
Try 1Lookup free for 7 days and compare it with MaxMind minFraud on your own work.
5 credits a signup, about $0.025 on Starter, on the same balance as phone, email and IP checks. Start with the 7-day free trial.
